Online resources

Entrance of the University of Maiduguri, Borno, Nigeria (April 2017, photograph by Vincent Hiribarren, CC-BY-SA)

Teaching Resources

‘Internet History Sourcebooks’ http://legacy.fordham.edu/halsall/africa/africasbook.asp [accessed 31 January 2018]

‘African Online Digital Library – Portal Page’ http://aodl.org/ [accessed 31 January 2018]

‘Exploring Africa’ http://exploringafrica.matrix.msu.edu/ [accessed 31 January 2018]

‘Endangered Archives Programme’ https://eap.bl.uk/ [accessed 31 January 2018]

‘African Kingdoms – Precolonial African History A-Level option (UK)’ https://africankingdoms.co.uk/# [accessed 31 January 2018]

 

Articles or book chapters online

‘Unesco – General History of Africa’: http://www.unesco.org/new/en/social-and-human-sciences/themes/general-history-of-africa/volumes/ [accessed 31 January 2018]

‘Unesco – Women in African History’ http://en.unesco.org/womeninafrica/open-educational-resources [accessed 31 January 2018]

‘African Studies – Authoritative Research Guide – Oxford Bibliographies – Obo’ http://www.oxfordbibliographies.com/obo/page/african-studies [accessed 31 January 2018]

‘African Timelines Part II: African Empires’ http://web.cocc.edu/cagatucci/classes/hum211/timelines/htimeline2.htm [accessed 31 January 2018]

 

Maps

‘Afriterra.org’ http://www.afriterra.org/ [accessed 31 January 2018]

‘Compare Countries With This Simple Tool’, The True Size, http://thetruesize.com/[accessed 31 January 2018]

 

Slavery

‘Teaching Slavery and the Slave Trade |’ http://tubman.info.yorku.ca/educational-resources/teaching-slavery-and-the-slave-trade/ [accessed 31 January 2018]

‘Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade’ http://slavevoyages.org/ [accessed 31 January 2018]

‘Legacies of British Slave-Ownership’ https://www.ucl.ac.uk/lbs/ [accessed 31 January 2018]

 

The trouble with the African Past?

‘Prof Richard Reid Inaugural Lecture: The Trouble with the African Past | SOAS University of London’ http://www.soas.ac.uk/about/events/inaugurals/04dec2013-prof-richard-reid-inaugural-lectur… [accessed 31 January 2018]

 

Benin

‘Benin Plaques’, British Museum http://www.britishmuseum.org/research/collection_online/collection_object_details.aspx?obj… [accessed 31 January 2018]

‘British Museum – African Civilisations’ http://www.britishmuseum.org/learning/schools_and_teachers/resources/all_resources/wealth_… [accessed 31 January 2018]

‘Resource: Art of Benin’, British Museum http://www.britishmuseum.org/learning/schools_and_teachers/resources/all_resources/resourc… [accessed 31 January 2018]

 

Asante

http://www.ascleiden.nl/content/webdossiers/asante-kingdom [accessed 20 April 2018]

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4lXyh7Bg8Oo [accessed 20 April 2018]

https://www.ghanaweb.com/GhanaHomePage/history/ashanti.php [accessed 20 April 2018]

http://www.thekingdomofasante.com/history-of-asante/ [accessed 20 April 2018]

 

Senegambia

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DMytlZcXRwA [accessed 20 April 2018]

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=56tgoANQ1Us [accessed 24 April 2018]

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9fDwtm2g0oM [accessed 24 April 2018]

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U5oYbPnXmzY [accessed 24 April 2018]

 

Kongo

‘Kongo: Power and Majesty’, The Metropolitan Museum of Art, I.e. The Met Museum http://www.metmuseum.org/exhibitions/listings/2015/kongo [accessed 31 January 2018]

‘John Thornton’s African Texts » African American Studies | Boston University’ http://www.bu.edu/afam/faculty/john-thornton/john-thorntons-african-texts/ [accessed 31 January 2018]

 

Songhai

‘Exhibition – Ancient Manuscripts from the Desert Libraries of Timbuktu | Exhibitions – Library of Congress’, 2010 http://www.loc.gov/exhibits/mali/mali-exhibit.html#obj2 [accessed 31 January 2018]

‘Djenné – Zamani Project’ http://www.zamaniproject.org/index.php/djenne.html [accessed 31 January 2018]

 

Other museums

‘Quai Branly – Home’, http://www.quaibranly.fr/en/ [accessed 31 January 2018]

 

Youtube

Lost Kingdoms of Africa : Gus Casely-Hayford.

Into Africa : Henry Louis Gates Jr.